Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Jay-Kid - Bringing Back The Magic! (2003)

ORIGINAL POSTING DATE: November 18, 2015

Well aren't I one for springing up unexpected surprises! Maybe not so unexpected, considering that I am THE ultimate fan of cover songs, especially those of popular hits from my favorite decade! Enter the Danish pop singer Jay-Kid and his "Bringing Back The Magic!" album, which does exactly as the title exclaims—bringing back the magical music memories created by the late 'King Of Pop', Michael Jackson. I surely would've gotten around to showcasing this rare treasure here at "The Music Spectrum" and sharing it with the rest of the music world at some point, but sometimes, a little bit of notification on the part of someone in my music circles—as was the case earlier this week&mash;is all I need to motivate me to give a certain album the feature spotlight that it totally deserves. To all of the Michael Jackson fans out there—near and far, young and old, American or international—this is a MUST HAVE for your pop collection! A greatest hits remix album—that's the way I see it! You'll discover immediately upon taking in his electro-pop rendition of " Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' " that, vocally, Jay-Kid sounds hauntingly identical to the late 'King Of Pop'. And from that point forward, you'll swear it was the spirit of MJ himself performing these modernized, post-New Millennium remakes of his own golden classics from the 70's and 80's! "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'" is just the first where that get-down-and-dance feeling comes over you; you'll enjoy that same thrill when the Danish singer wields his magic on the funky disco classic, "Blame It On The Boogie", the JACKSONS' "Can You Feel It?" (I've always loved that thunderous intro and the even more thunderous production during the chorus), "P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)" (a terrific choice to infuse with a slammin' Eurodisco beat, he digitized backup vocals even recapturing the original with the spelling of 'P-Y-T' and 'T-L-C' in the chorus) and "Rock With You" (yes—that signature smooth, old-school groove is still there). I was extremely impressed with the contemporary revitalized upbeat production for "Human Nature" (oh yes—this Jay-Kid version is awesome!), "I Want You Back" (hearing "ABC" in this new format would've been so cool, too!), "Liberian Girl", "I Can't Help It" and especially "Stranger In Moscow", which is one of a handful of specific MJ hits that have a special way of sticking to me ("Will You Be There?", "Keep The Faith" and "Earth Song" that have similar effects on me). It honestly took me some getting used to the distorted techno arrangement for the Danish singer's remake of "Bad"—which retains that intense 'bad' sound of the 80's original&mash;but it's still all good when it's done and through. I'm so surprised that there are still a bunch of MJ classics that I've either never heard or don't know very well, as they had been recorded before my time. So hearing Jay-Kid performing "We've Got A Good Thing Going", "One Day In Your Life" and "Who's Loving You" had all seemed completely new to me. Interestingly enough, this trio is perhaps the greatest moments for the Danish singerwithin this entire collection of memorable Michael Jackson moments, with the true brilliance in his vocal ability emerging on the latter two as he delivers ringing, show-stopping performances on each one. Needless to say, you won't get by with only one listen to Jay-Kid's ambitious "Bringing Back The Magic!", because once these songs have cast a spell on you, breaking out of the trance and bringing yourself back to reality will be a difficult thing to accomplish:

1. Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
2. Blame It On The Boogie
3. Can You Feel It?
4. I Just Can't Stop Loving You
5. I Can't Help It
6. We've Got A Good Thing Going
7. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
8. Stranger In Moscow
9. Human Nature
10. Rock With You
11. I Want You Back
12. Bad
13. Liberian Girl
14. One Day In Your Life
15. Who's Loving You?

No comments: