Friday, October 20, 2017

SIMPLY RED-Men And Women (1987)


My resumption of getting the 'S' artists in my music collection has given me the opportunity to catch up with some SIMPLY RED listening. In fact, I 'simply' have not listened to enough of this group outside of their popular radio hits, namely "You Make Me Feel Brand New", "Stars", "Sunshine" and some other favorites whose names I'm currently drawing a blank in remembering. And of course, I had to continue on in my 80's indulgence, so that meant tuning in to SIMPLY RED's 1987 album simply entitled "Men And Women". I did hear bits and pieces of this one years ago, which is how one favorite song in particular got stuck to me: "Move On Out". This nicely-arranged pop piece is about a couple breaking up where it's time for somebody to pack the bags and literally get out of their place so that the other can move on with a new somebody else—it's as simple as that. But what makes this song stand out is, for one thing, Mick Hucknall's vocals. I always like how he sings the 'get rid of me, rid of me, rid of me, rid of me' in the first or second verse), plus the part where he goes 'you better move on out now' before the main chorus, then that humorous part where the the guy is shouting 'ho!, whoa!, get outta here!, get outta here!' (that's what I always remember the most). I'd wondered if the album's second track, "Infidelity", is what inspired the album's simplistic title, as this perky and perfectly-80's pop piece tells a story about how men simply can't be trusted. Before that, my ears and I were impressed with the strong opener, "The Right Thing", which reminded me how marvelously soulful Mick can present him to be, as did the mellow piano piece, "Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye" (seems that just about every great popular soul singer has recorded a few of these acoustic piano pieces to show off their remarkable singing talents). Some of these songs were simply a fun music adventure that I got lost inside of: the sunny and upbeat "Shine", the breezy groove of a concluding piece, "Maybe Someday..." and Track #3's "Suffer" (what draws me to this one is the exchange between the deep-voiced guy singing ' please don't make me suffer ' on a low pitch followed by the backup singers repeating those same words at a higher pitch. Found a pair of new goodies to add to my goodie bag: "I Won't Feel Bad" and ":Love Fire". The catchy pop arrangement of the former reeled me in right away, and I remained hooked on the line each time Mick would show off some grit when he breaks it all down in the chorus, and especially during the final movements when the song suddenly explodes into a wild, funky and jazzy affair with Mick preaching about all of the various people in his life who say that he's bad. Then as for the latter, I felt a sense of peace and tranquility with the song's spiritual vibe, created by the ethnic sound of the backing vocalists and the soft, subtle reggae rhythm—an instant music delight before it even reached the fifteen-second mark:

1. The Right Thing
2. Infidelity
3. Suffer
4. I Won't Feel Bad
5. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
6. Let Me Have It All
7. Love Fire
8. Move On Out
9. Shine
10. Maybe Someday...

No comments: